Alexwalsh's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Making things

with 2 comments

This is what I was thinking of when I decided to design and make my own garment from start to finish and how I came up with the theme ‘Retired samurai does Hello! magazine’.
Here I will defend George Lucas, even though he made three really crappy films a few years ago. Turns out it isn’t his fault. He is directly responsible for them, and that is why he isn’t really to blame. Not long ago I met the dancer Lizaggiss, she’s dead nice. One of the things that she said was that artistic freedom is in restriction. That seemed odd, to me it was all about being able to do what you want, without restriction. However, if given unlimited resources and the scope to do anything the tendancy is to make a confusing, boring mess.  Further when presented with a wide choice, actually making a decision becomes difficult and unsatifying. More dificult than when choice is small. So you see, when Lucas was unrestricted, his work was a mess (1,2 and 3. When he had conditions to meet, his work was excellent (4,5 and 6)
This is what I was thinking of when I decided to start designing something. I didn’t want the execution to go crazy and get too much. The next thing that happened was…

[SECTION MISSING]

…and that is why what I make must be the sort of thing that a samurai would wear on a day off for a photoshoot with Hello! magazine. Anything that is obviously outside of that theme is chopped down, giving me a clearer view of what I am working towards.

I realise that all this could have been more succinct by saying something like “The essence of style is a simple way of saying something complex.” –Giorgio Armani, but you know…

Written by alexwalsh

January 4, 2010 at 12:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] » I’ve been wittering about two things for at least a year. 1, that creative freedom exists in boundries. 2, that menswear suffers from a lack of variety. For some reason I never comined the […]

  2. […] » I’ve been wittering about two things for at least a year. 1, that creative freedom exists in boundries. 2, that menswear suffers from a lack of variety. For some reason I never comined the […]


Leave a Reply

