Alexwalsh's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Not contraversial, just niche.

with one comment

Dress straps are functional. Even the word sounds like its not making any real effort. The fact that it is also a verb that is applied to safety, or medical equipment is probably what has led me to start looking at them kinda funny. They work fine, but if I’m going to make something from a design point of view, I should think about what kind of area they occupy.

They exist to keep stuff from falling down, and that makes them essential, but sometimes they’re like seeing the wires that keep spaceships in old science fiction films. Like you are seeing something that is only there because it has to be. Oh, and its worse when they are there, but pretending not to be.

That gives me two options. One, is get rid of them and find another way to keep stuff up. Two, is to make them into a feature. Both of those present me with difficulties. Getting rid is a technical problem, the solution is in the construction of the garment. I’ll save that for later.

Making a feature is an artistic problem. If I just whacked stuff on top of the straps, it would look clumsy and ugly. I think it’s unimaginative to just cover something up if you don’t like its appearence. So I’ll have to work on a way of making straps that are there for their beauty as much as neccessity. This is nearly what I mean. I can’t find it exactly. Oh gads. That means I’m going to have to make it myself. This is as close as I can find.

Woke up with the following theme in my head. Ancient Greek hippy. maybe Matthew Williamson Spring 10 had something to do with it.

Written by alexwalsh

November 23, 2009 at 1:17 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] by Cate Blanchett on the right) to my attention, which shows what I was getting at with my weird strap-based babble last week. Tis good. The function balances precisely with the […]


Leave a Reply

